java script is required for this website to view properly.


About US


The B.Ed. Department of Uluberia College, Howrah, West Bengal, founded in 1968, is the oldest Teachers’ Training Institution of the district with the affiliation of the University of Calcutta. This is a Government aided, co-educational multi-faculty institution and the shrine of students of diverse communities, cultures and backgrounds. The department was duly recognized by the NCTE in 2008. It is located approximately 2 kms. from the Uluberia Railway Station. Over the years it has become a renowned teachers' training college of the district. 

Not only does the Department strive for academic excellence but also for co-curricular achievements in the spheres of publication, games and sports and cultural activities. “Musings”- a registered Academic Journal is the culmination of a long cherished dream of each and every Faculty member of this department. We look forward to cherish many other dream-fulfillments and achievements in the years to come…


The college owes its existence to the selfless and untiring service of the founder principal, late Haripada Ghosal and the generous donation from the local people. Established in 1948 as a small institution, it has now grown as a fairly big college of more than six thousand students studying different subjects with the aid , assistance and grants of Calcutta University, the Government of West Bengal and the University Grants Commission. It is open to students of all communities. The B.Ed. section as an additional part of this institute was set up in 1968. Now this institute holds a glorious name and fame among the other Teachers’ Training Institutes in West Bengal. 


The College, one of the leading Teachers’ Training Institutes in West Bengal, conducted the first ODL Programme in 2013-2015 with affiliation from Netaji Subhas Open University.



Affiliation and Accreditation

  • The Institution is affiliated to the University of Calcutta with aids, assistance and grants from the Govt. of West Bengal and the University Grants Commission, New Delhi.
  • The NAAC accreditation of “B to the institution in 2014 has further strengthened the attempts towards academic excellence.
  • The B.Ed. Department of the college was duly recognized by the N.C.T.E in 2008, and subsequently by the revised order no F. ERC/NCTE/APE00688/B.Ed.(Revised Order)/2015/32078; Dated 25th May, 2015



Governing Body




  • Dr. Debasish Pal




  • Mr. Pulak Roy,Member, Govt. Nominee, President
  • Dr. Debasish Pal,  Principal, Secretary
  • Dr. Nirmal Majhi, Member, Govt. Nominee
  • Prof. Ashok Kr. Satpati, Member, University Nominee
  • Prof. Sajal Sengupta, Member, University Nominee
  • Mr. Arjun Sarkar, Member, Chairman, Uluberia Municipality
  • Dr. Siddhartha Sankar Bhattacharya, Member, Teacher Representative
  • Dr. Basanti Bhattacharya, Member, Teacher Representative
  • Smt. Supti Ghata, Member, Teacher Representative
  • Dr. Nikhil Chandra Haldar, Member, Teacher Representative
  • Smt. Sumitra Ghosal, Non-teaching Representative
  • Mr. Satyajit Majumdar, Non-teaching Representative
  • Smt. Reetika Bose, Member, General Secretary, Student’s Union



Teachers' Council

President : Principal/Officer in charge
Different subcommittees of the Teachers' Council assist the Principal/Officer in Charge in various academic and administrative aspects.
The Teachers’ Council consisting of elected teacher members is a representative body of all teachers.



  • Dated : 2014-09-20 00:15:14

    Nunc ipsum mauris deotra elestar condimentum convallis felis.


  • Dated : 2014-09-20 00:16:09

    Nunc ipsum mauris deotra elestar condimentum convallis felis.


  • Dated : 2015-09-05 23:06:50

    New Message


View More